Home > History

The History of Toronto

It was in 2001 that the Francophonie Week at Toronto, in its current form, has taken off. That was when an organizing committee was formed, with the Centre Francophone of Toronto in mind, to create scheduled events that would be offered by different individuals of the community.

Glendon College already underlined the International Day of the Francophonie since 1998, which had given a good starting point to prolong the Week and to diversify the supply. Several artists were streamed including Sol, Yvon Deschamps, Laurence Jalbert, Fred Pellerin, Richard Séguin, Habib Koite, Robert Charlebois and Florence K, and this is without taking into consideration all the Torontonian artists.

The Francophonie Week, with its many cultural events and a growing number of participating organizations, has become with time, a major event of the Francophone community in Toronto.

History in the world

The International Francophonie Day is a worldwide celebration of the International Organization of the Francophonie (OIF) taking place March 20th of every year. This event was created in 1998 as a way for the 70 states and governments of the International Organization of the Francophonie (OIF) to celebrate their common bond – the French language – along with their diversity. This day, devoted to the French language, unites 220 million of speakers in the world and brings 870 million of Francophones. It’s an opportunity for the Francophones around the world to celebrate by expressing their solidarity and their desires to live together, in their differences and their diversity, sharing the Francophone values.

The date chosen for this celebration is the anniversary of the creation of the first Francophone organization, the Agency for Cultural and Technical Cooperation at the Niamey Conference in 1970.

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','https://www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-91405775-1', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');

Accueil > Comité

Historique

C’est en 2001 que la Semaine de la francophonie a vu le jour dans sa forme actuelle. Un comité organisateur a été formé, avec le Centre francophone de Toronto en tête, afin de programmer une série d’événements culturels présentés par différents organismes de la communauté francophone.

Le Collège Glendon célébrait déjà la Journée Internationale de la francophonie depuis 1998 et cela a constitué un point de départ pour créer la Semaine et diversifier l’offre culturelle. Des spectacles de nombreux artistes comme Sol, Yvon Deschamps, Laurence Jalbert, Fred Pellerin, Richard Séguin, Habib Joite, Robert Charlebois et Florence K, sans compter tous les artistes Torontois, ont été préséntés.

La Semaine de la francophonie, avec ses événements culturels riches et son nombre croissant de partenaires, est devenue avec le temps un événement majeur de la communauté francophone de Toronto.

L’histoire dans le monde
La Journée Internationale de la francophonie est une célébration internationale qui a lieu le 20 mars de chaque année. Cet événement a été créé en 1998 afin que les 70 États membres de l’Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie célèbrent leur point commun – la langue française – dans toute leur diversité. Ce jour, dédié à la langue française, rassemble chaque année plus de 870 millions de francophones dans le monde. C’est alors l’occasion pour eux d’exprimer leur solidarité et leur désir de vivre ensemble, dans leur diversité, et de partager les valeurs francophones.

La date choisie pour cette célébration correspond à l’anniversaire de la création de la première organisation francophone, l’Agence pour la Coopération Culturelle et Technique à la conférence de Niamey en 1970.

Les membres du comité de la Semaine de la francophonie 2017

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','https://www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-91405775-1', 'auto'); ga('send', 'pageview');